current | archives | email | Sign My Guestbook | Favorite Blogs | host | image | design

Merdeka 50th
August 31, 2007, 10:32 p.m.

Happy 50th Merdeka Day!!!

With Merdeka fever everywhere, I suddenly questioned myself what I like in Malaysia and why I'm proud of being a Malaysian. It took me quite sometimes to answer it. A few days actually. *sigh*

It's not that I don't like the country. It's just...Now that I'm working after 4 years being overseas, I get to see the more true colors of Malaysia. I get to face the traffic jam everyday, the polluted environment and sea, to see people's attitude towards public facilities and disabled, lacking customer service, corruption, etc, etc.

Not that I'm not grateful, but it is still quite a blow to discover such things still happening in your country.

Well, after watching the final PestaBola Merdeka @ Stadium Shah Alam (Congrats guys!!! Glad I went to watch), I really think these are the things that made me glad I'm a Malaysian:-

1. The peace and harmony. No war. Me being able to go to work, to shop, to travel peacefully. Priceless.

2. The multicultural. It looks like it ain't a big deal, but after seeing other countries, you'll realised this is something really unique about Malaysia.

3. The food. Nasik Lemak, Roti Canai, Lemang, Rendang, Sate, Sambal Belacan, Tempoyak, Durian. Heaven. Just heaven.

Well, following NST questionnaire of what I would like to change about Malaysia? My answers are...

1. Traffic Jam = you know what.
2. Public utilities = cleanliness.
3. Enforcement on enviromental control. Pity to see the polluted environment.
4. Football ~ FAM to be controlled by non-political figures.
5. Corruption.

Happy Merdeka Day!

last - next

Daisypath Anniversary Years Ticker

Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie